Speakers Summer School 2021, Lisbon

Those selected took their seat in a unique classroom. Teachers and mentors came from across the EU Member States. These top-level speakers gave students a first class education, as they addressed everything from economics to policy, climate change to cybersecurity, and innovation to media, during panel discussions and roundtables, casual fireside chats, and keynote speeches.

Elvira Fortunato

Vice-Rector, NOVA University
Director, Materials Research Center (CENIMAT), Associated Laboratory i3N 

André de Aragão Azevedo

Portuguese Secretary of State for the Digital Transition

Catherine Chen

Corporate Senior Vice President and Director of the Board, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Rosa Monteiro

Portuguese Secretary of State for Citizenship and Equality

Abraham Liu

Chief Representative to the EU Institutions and Vice-President for the European Region, HUAWEI

Maria da Graça Carvalho

Member of the European Parliament      

Vicky Piria

Italian-British Racing Driver, Formula Renault Eurocup and W Series

David Jiménez

Columnist, The New York Times
Former Editor-in-Chief, El Mundo 

Eavann Murphy

Managing Director, open eir Wholesale   

Vanda de Jesus

Executive Director, Portugal Digital

Lina Gálvez Muñoz

Member of the European Parliament 

Luisa Santos

Deputy Director General, BusinessEurope

Berta Herrero

Programme Director, Summer School for Female Leadership in the Digital Age
Senior EU Public Affairs Manager, HUAWEI  

Aleksandra Przegalinska

Associate Professor, Kozminski University Poland 

Martina Rogato

Sustainability Advisor and W20 Sherpa

Roberta N. Haar

Professor of Foreign Policy Analysis and Transatlantic Relations, Maastricht University; and Research Director, University College Maastricht   

Beatriz Becerra

Former MEP & Vice-Chair, Human Rights Subcommittee of the European Parliament 

Luc Hindryckx

Director General, ecta

Shada Islam

Founder, New Horizons Project 

Cristina Vaz Tomé

Member of Executive Committee, Impresa Group; Board Member, EGTA (Association of TV & Radio Saleshouses)

Cláudia Cavadas

Vice Rector for Research, University of Coimbra

Diogo Madeira da Silva

Head of Public Affairs & Communications, HUAWEI Portugal   

Sandra Ribeiro

President, Portuguese Commission for Citizenship and Gender Equality – under the coordination of the Secretary of State of Citizenship and Equality / Presidency of the Council of Ministers

Roberta Cianetti

Social Media Director, Condé Nast Italia

Luísa Ribeiro Lopes

Chairman of the Board of Directors, .PT; General Coordinator, INCoDe.2030

Anett Numa

Digital Transformation Adviser, e-Estonia

Pedro Santa-Clara

Professor of Finance, Nova School of Business and Economics
Director, 42 Lisboa 

Magid Magid

Founder & Director, Union of Justice; former MEP & Mayor of Sheffield; named one of TIME’s 100 rising stars shaping the future of the world

Monica Carcò

International Development and Gender Expert  

Inês Mendes da Silva

CEO & Executive Director, Notable.

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama

Director of ECIPE (European Centre for International Political Economy)

Sabina Ciofu

Head of EU and Trade Policy, TechUK  

Dora Palfi

Co-Founder & CEO, imagiLabs

Belinda Parmar OBE

Diversity & transformation expert, author and corporate activist   

Nuno Machado Lopes

Singularity University Faculty, ExO Consultant & Trainer   

Rui Aguiar

Professor, Universidade de Aveiro; Head of Networks & Services, Instituto de Telecomunicações; Lab Director, 5GAINER

Carla Van Stralen

Founder, The Women's Leadership Program 

Naomi Saelens

Executive Coach, The Women's Leadership Program

Claudia de Castro Caldeirinha

Senior Leadership and Gender Equality Specialist

Gunta Sloga

Executive Director, Baltic Centre for Media Excellence 

Majka Lipiak

CEO, ‘Work from Bed’ Social Enterprise

Luisa Baldini

Co-Founder, Composure Media

Manuela Prina

Head of the Skills Identification and Development Unit, European Training Foundation (ETF)